RØPE

hang on.

My Photo
Name:
Location: Philippines

struggling writer, aspiring filmmaker, movie watcher, book reader, lucid dreamer, pricetag peeler.

Wednesday, October 26, 2005

needles

today is my mother's birthday. i am home. i do not have a gift for her.

greetings, surfers! let's see now...

on the 3rd of november of this year, i will (hopefully) become a "regular" rank-and-file employee of gma network inc. i know very little of what comes with it. what i do know is that i would have one more day off to spend on personal activities such as being with kiddo, resting, blogging etc. with the added free time, maybe id be able to update weekly then. oh yes, and watch more movies as well. also, there will be a "slight" increase in my salary. slight. meaning , not much. meaning, we work our buns off every single day and this is all we get? seriously. you'd laugh if i tell you how much they pay us for what we do. (so all of you call center people out there, quit whining because you are most definitely better off. way better.) other than those two, i have no idea exactly what these other "benefits" are that they've been yapping about. one benefit i would be very much pleased to avail: my own network account, used for retrieving graphics, audio, and other files needed for plugs, and the highly-required internet access. give it already, dammit!

while i leave the pc for a while and grab some munchies, for somethin kiddie weird and trippy, check this out. clickety-click-click and i was makin a black dude catch giant apples. how odd and amusing.

i read in some newspaper that there'll soon be an asian "amazing race". like the rights were acquired blah blah somethin somethin. well, to hell with that, i wanna join! it would be kiddo and i running around, goin places, doin challenges, fighting, making up, asking directions... coolness. it doesnt matter if its limited to asia. i just wanna go out, lug that backpack, and travel. i wanna ride a plane again. i miss the thrill of taking off and the landing (while listening to classical music, what joy), the fun of flying above the clouds. i miss lookin down on the world, down on everybody else. you just know someone's lookin up at you and it makes you feel "i'm up here and you're not" good.

refrain from thinking "live in" when i say that kiddo and i are gonna live together very soon. well, maybe in a way but not like we're doin it to prepare for the big tying of the big knot (i guess we are but not like... oh it's complicated). don't get me wrong, i wanna marry kiddo (now if i could) and have a son for starters, but i really dont think we're both ready for that stage in life yet and then risk a newborn baby's life in our hands while barely earning enough money for ourselves. that day will come and i would be the happiest man to be happy. for now, we are doing this for three primary reasons (1) we love being together, hate being apart from each other; (2) it'll help us save some dough (for the future) since spending it to see each other and go out will be lessened; and (3) we need our private personal just-the-two-of-us space. i live in an 8000-peso-a-month (sans other bills) apartment with seven other guys and number 3 is kinda pretty hard to achieve. i wanna be in a place where i could pass time with just kiddo by my side. i wanna talk to her and do stuff with her and not think about anybody else seeing us or hearing us. i wanna wake up to her smile and kisses, not to the crumpled-up face of that mollycoddle dude who sleeps with his framed college graduation picture close by. that place is somewhere around guadalupe. it is ours now, we've paid the reservation fee and will be paying the first month the day we move in which is on the 5th of november. hooray.

by the fckin way, i've tinkered with my friendster account. made some css adjustments and voila, the skizzy feel. add me up as a friend and go see it. iwillruletheworld@mail.com is the email addy. the friendster blog is kinda teasing though (i actually already have an idea of what that one would be like), but succumbing to it would mean maintaining three blogs. okay. i shall think it through.

that's the scoop for today, comrados and comradas. time for a quick shut-eye and then... i dont know. be back in manila later this evening. graveyard work. gonna have the am shift again next month. anyways, so long, surfers!

p.s. finished life of pi about a couple of weeks ago. great book.

Monday, October 10, 2005

mix up

october is spanish month in the philippines and the spanish film festival "pelikula" has kicked off in greenbelt 1. as hardcore cineastes, the maiden and i have been watching films the past week and will still be watching more this coming week. i gave my coworkers a heads up, told them they should go see somethin new instead of the usual commercialized crapola they waste money on. the maiden invited her friends as well. (shrug) didnt see none of them there or heard anything from them about it. oh well, to each his own. anyways... have a couple of reviews over at spew.

yesterday, dyord, a co-editor, celebrated his birthday by treating us out to a bar. since im in the graveyard shift, i was only able to stay for an hour (which was during our break) together with my shiftmates. our stingy oic warned me that i could only drink one bottle of beer. yeah right. i opened two bottles, put one in plain sight, hid the other among other bottles, finished that one secretly and then downed the other as seen by my oic. as one beer buddy had said, genius...

my new haircut has been getting nice comments since its inception. they say i look clean and polite. and that it was a good thing i decided to do it. some curse and ask what i had done to my hair. anyways, the first few days id put gel on my hair and comb it tidy. i lost the comb and lost the urge to use gel. im back to my non-combing self again but with no disadvantage 'cause the maiden likes the "harry potter" look. or the "beatles" look, as someone had pointed out.

things are doin well and goin better with the maiden and me. we've returned to our kissy huggy happy together selves, and very much in love with each other. i feel that this will last and wont fade. on that note, this post shall mark that transition, and the maiden, from now on, shall be referred to as kiddo. without a the. i love my kiddo.