RØPE

hang on.

My Photo
Name:
Location: Philippines

struggling writer, aspiring filmmaker, movie watcher, book reader, lucid dreamer, pricetag peeler.

Sunday, August 21, 2005

blunt force trauma

madre de dios! i just finished watchin season finales of two of my favorite tv shows (which i barely get to watch 'cause of work): smallville and csi!!! smallville was kinda so-so (clark didnt fly. sheesh) but it was great nonetheless. that wonderful close-up to wide shot scene of clark in the all alone in the middle of snowhere (snow+nowhere. neat, huh?) was cool (pun intended. tee-hee). three words: fortress of solitude!

csi "grave danger" on the other hand though was hands down amazing beginning to end. bravo, mr. tarantino! it actually didnt feel like a csi episode but instead a quentin tarantino flick. the story, the mood, the visual style, even the acting was kinda different from the usual. stand-out classic tarantino scene: when nick stokes is in his last gasps of air and is imagining funny things to stay alive. gotta like the black and white. nice. they should like get him to direct all the csi season finales to come.

trapped in a glass box underground with some glow sticks, depleting air supply, and a loaded gun. i wonder what i'd do if i were in that situation... anyways, if i had a band right now, we'll play classical hardcore rap, and i shall call it "blunt force trauma". yes ma'am.

up next: lost season finale! yay!

Sunday, August 07, 2005

last blog syndrome

i'll heading back to manila in a while. just got home from a quick drive around town. i went to the market and purchased some sweet delicious uber-chocolatey snacks: mik-mik (one of my faves, very cheap, and best enjoyed with involuntary coughing), and choki-choki (which, to my surprise, isnt cheap). will be sharing these with my shiftmates tomorrow. eating inside the editing room is actually against policy but what the hell, we get away with it anyways. and besides, it immensely helps us to get through the day and finish the workload they pile up on our laps.

eversince the maiden and i saw the chicken little teaser trailer preceeding charlie and the chocolate factory (which was delightlfully smashing, btw), i couldnt get the song the dancing chick boy was dancing to (kinda cute, actually). it goes "maya-hee, maya-hoo, maya-haha". whatever that song is. on the other hand, my sms alert tone right now is the creepy happy willy wonka song.

there! done burning a vcd copy of the (hate to use the overused adjective but its all that fits) controversial movie "9 songs" onto purple striped cd-r's. if you havent heard of it yet, google it up, guys.

well, i guess im off to sail the seven seas of sidewalks and strangers again. bump you around, friend!

p.s. johnny depp is willy wonka. then im willy wanker.

Saturday, August 06, 2005

one two three

#1 - dead on page 596
apologies to anyone who felt bad about the harry potter spoiler thingy. it was my inner asshole at work. anyways, snape does kill dumbledore, snape is the half-blood prince. his dad is a wizard and his mom is a 'muggle' named eileen prince (that's called a surprise twist, kiddies!). anyways, move on people. it's not the end of the world.

#2 - pain in the rain
here's an entry i made on my 9210i (not actually mine, just a hand-me-down) within the past week:

i kept holding back my tears. when she replied denying my request, when she refused to be with me for the weekend, when she said what she said the way she always said them, i held back my tears. the maiden. she's been cold to me since tuesday. it's like seeing yourself backstabbed, third person p.o.v. the tears are hard to control. i try to push them back into my eyes. i havent cried for a long time and i didnt want to cry now. especially not in front of my friends/coworkers. work sucks. but it's somethin i gotta do despite an aching heart.
out of the craphole and into the rain. and then i could hold back no more. the tears pour out like corks were unplugged from my eyes. did the rain make me cry. no. i think the rain LET me cry. i walked all the way to our apartment, weeping the rain, wishing somethin bad to happen to me.
no luck.

um, all i could say is one big "sheesh..."

#3 - morning wood
im on the am shift now, 7am to 4pm. finally! woohoo! waking up so early is the worst part of it. i mean i literally have to take command of my body and pull myself off the bed. even if i had more than enough sleep. that's the crucial part of my day right there, hauling my ass out the bedroom and into the bathroom. but after that, smoothness. well, unless id be given a ton of plugs to finish, but even that seems easy with the office pressure minused. the system blows but thanks to our good-natured oic's, it seems like it doesnt. i love this shift.

p.s. i miss whispie.