RØPE

hang on.

My Photo
Name:
Location: Philippines

struggling writer, aspiring filmmaker, movie watcher, book reader, lucid dreamer, pricetag peeler.

Thursday, March 17, 2005

overheat

i love driving. whether for a purpose or just plain wasting time (and gas), being behind the wheel gives me a different kind of high. when i was a kid, i wanted to become a pilot. but i couldnt be one anymore for ive become visually impaired. i have come to accept my condition and lived the rest of my life as a nerd, but id never stop hoping that i could take control of an airplane and soar the skies. maybe this is why i have frequent dreams of having the power of flight like superman. anyways, driving a car is probably the nearest i could get to the realization of my childhood ambition. nothing beats the thrill of driving fast or the relaxation of cruising around. unless of course i encounter the two things i hate the most when driving: stupid drivers on the road and stupid djs on the radio.

there are many kinds of stupid drivers and im sure ive come across most of them. they dont just spoil your ride, they ruin your freakin day. if cursing each anf every one of them was deadly, id be a mass murderer. why such people exist, i dont know, but here are the top three morons that make my blood boil the most: (1) the sunday driver. the slow stupid one, most of the time, it's an elderly person or a woman. they never go past 40kph and they have the uncanny ability of showing up in front of you when you're in a hurry. they are the drivers who are honked at the most which probably makes them even deafer. unless it's a car problem, no one should drive like sunday, even if it is sunday. (2) the greedy driver. those who think they own the road and have no care for the other drivers around. these people cause the most accidents. they run red lights, they overtake on slim chances and cut you, they drive in the middle of the road so you cant overtake, they just park anywhere, and they steal your parking space just because they have a better entry point even if you've been waiting there for so long. one day when i am filthy rich i will buy a cheap car and use it solely to bump, scrape, and ram, into this asswipes regardless of the damage it will cause. (3) the complete idiot driver. they are as brainless as a pile of dung. how they learned to drive is a mystery. they leave their right or left hand signal on or they turn without signalling. they back up and dont stop until they crash into something. on a multi-lane road, they stay on the rightmost lane even if they need to turn left on the intersection. when a car breaks down in front of them, they cant maneuver their way out of there while the other cars pass them by. stupid, stupid, and really stupid.

when i drive, the second thing i do after i start the engine is turn the radio on. on long trips i usually pop in an album into the stereo or make recordings of my favorite songs, but often times i stick to the radio for variety. one station i really like is the one that plays only classical music with barely any talk. however, i cant get the freqiency from where i reside, and i unfortunately have to settle with the crappy local stations and the crappy disc jockeys. some are good, some are bad but tolerable. and then there is one whom i immensely abhor, primarily for being the dumbest dj ever, and for using a name i respect. this "peter parker" jerk doesnt even have the voice to be a dj but what makes it worse is his utter ignorance of music. either he doesnt know the song's title, or who sang it, or both, or if he knew it, he pronounces it wrong. i always try to stay away from this imbecile's show time, but sometimes id hear a good song and when it finishes, this nincompoop speaks out. i mean, why are they keeping him on the job? am i really the only one who feels this way? makes me miss hearing sarah meier on the hip hop station. but anyways, the other djs are kinda ok and they do play some songs i like but one thing i hate about it is the djs keep on blabbing even when the song has already begun. and as if it was some skill they learned in dj school, they talk while the song instrumental intro plays and stop on cue when the vocals come in. why wont they just play the song from start to finish. one day, when i rule the world, yapping while a song is playing will be against the law.

well, that's my two cents. ive been wanting to write this for so long. i may have missed some of the things i wanted to rant about but this pretty much covers all that i had in mind. comments, be it negative or not, are welcome. thanks for allowing me to waste your time reading this. still, have a nice day and drive safely.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home